RAW COMEDY 2018 – NATIONAL EVENTS CONFIRMED

Friday 5th January /

Entries are now open to register for comedy’s ultimate high-wire, Australia’s largest and most prestigious open mic, the annual RAW Comedy competition.

The annual RAW Comedy competition will see the nation’s bravest and boldest new performers take to the stage to test their skill and stamina with five minutes of new, original comedy material – stand-up, sketch, double and triple acts and musical comedy are all welcome. It’s comedy with no fear and no safety net, just exhilaration and adulation ahead!

State-wide heats will kick off in January before the best of the best battle it out at the National Grand Final during the Melbourne International Comedy Festival in April 2018. The winner will be laughing all the way to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe where they’ll have a chance to compete in So You Think You’re Funny? in August 2018.

Open to competitors aged 17+ years, past RAW competitors include Tom Ballard, Hannah Gadsby, Ronny Chieng, Celia Pacquola and Luke McGregor.

For more info and to sign up visit RAWCOMEDY.COM.AU

 

National heats are as follows:

 

VICTORIA

Melbourne

The Evelyn Hotel – Heat 1: Sun 14 Jan 1pm

Howler – Heat 2: Sat 20 Jan 1pm

Howler – Heat 3: Sat 3 Feb 1pm

The Evelyn Hotel – Heat 4: Sun 4 Feb 1pm

The Evelyn Hotel – Heat 5: Sun 11 Feb 1pm

The Evelyn Hotel – Heat 6: Sun 18 Feb 1pm

Kindred Studios Yarraville – Thu 22 Feb 7.30pm

Howler – Heat 7: Sat 24 Feb 1pm

The Evelyn Hotel – Heat 8: Sun 25 Feb 1pm

Geelong

Geelong Performing Arts Centre – Sat 10 Feb 7.30pm

Warrnambool

Mozart Hall Warrnambool – Sun 21 Jan, 5pm

The Evelyn Hotel – Thu 1 Mar 7.30pm (Preliminary Final)

The Evelyn Hotel – Thu 8 Mar 7.30pm (Preliminary Final)

Howler – Sun 18 Mar 7.30pm (Preliminary Final)

The Evelyn Hotel – Thu 22 Mar 7.30pm (Preliminary Final)

Howler – Mon 26 Mar 7.30pm (State Final)

 

NEW SOUTH WALES

Sydney

Comedy Store – Heat 1: Tue 16 Jan 8pm

Comedy Store – Heat 2: Tue 23 Jan 8pm

Comedy Store – Heat 3: Tue 30 Jan 8pm

Comedy Store – Heat 4: Tue 6 Feb 8pm

Comedy Store – Heat 5: Tue 13 Feb 8pm

Comedy Store – Heat 6: Tue 20 Feb 8pm

Comedy Store – Heat 7: Tue 27 Feb 8pm

Newcastle

Civic Theatre (Playhouse) – Fri 16 Feb 8pm

Wollongong         

Wollongong Town Hall – Thu 15 Feb 8pm

Byron Bay

Byron Bay Services Club – Mon 12 Mar 7pm

Mullumbimby

Mullumbimby Ex Services Club – Mon 19 Feb 7pm.

Comedy Store – Tue 6 Mar 8pm (Semi Final)

Comedy Store – Tue 13 March 8pm (Semi Final)

Comedy Store – Tue 20 Mar 8pm (State Final)

 

WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Perth

The Comedy Lounge – Heat 1: Thu 11 Jan 8pm

The Comedy Lounge – Heat 2: Thu 18 Jan 8pm

The Comedy Lounge – Heat 3: Thu 25 Jan 8pm

The Comedy Lounge – Heat 4: Thu 1 Feb 8pm

The Comedy Lounge – Heat 5: Thu 8 Feb 8pm

The Comedy Lounge – 1 Mar 8pm (State Final)

 

SOUTH AUSTRALIA

Adelaide

The Rhino Room – Heat 1: Thu 4 Jan 8pm

The Rhino Room – Heat 2: Thu 11 Jan 8pm

The Rhino Room – Heat 3: Thu 18 Jan 8pm

The Rhino Room – Heat 4: Thu 25 Jan 8pm

Nexus Cabaret – Fri 2 Feb 8pm (State Final)

 

QUEENSLAND

Brisbane

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 1: Thu 8 Feb 8pm,

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 2: Sun 11 Feb 7pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 3: Wed 14 Feb 8pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 4: Thu 15 Feb 8pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 5: Sun 18 Feb 7pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 6: Wed 21 Feb 8pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 7: Thu 22 Feb 8pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 8: Sun 25 Feb 7pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Heat 9: Wed 28 Feb 8pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Thu 1 Mar 8pm (Wild Card Heat)

Surfers Paradise

The Avenue – Tue 20 Feb 8pm

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Sun 4 Mar 7pm (Preliminary Final)

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Sun 11 Mar 7pm (Preliminary Final)

The Sit Down Comedy Club at The Paddo Tavern – Sun 18 Mar 7pm (State Final)

 

TASMANIA

Hobart

Brisbane Hotel – Thu 22 Feb 8pm

Launceston

Royal Oak Hotel – Fri 2 Mar 8pm

Brisbane Hotel – Thu 15 Mar 7.30pm (State Final)

 

NORTHERN TERRITORY

Darwin

Happy Yess – Heat 1: Tue 6 Feb 7.30pm

Happy Yess – Heat 2: Tue 20 Feb 7.30pm

Alice Springs

Totem Theatre – Sat 17 Feb 7.30pm

The Venue Darwin – Fri 2 Mar 8pm (State Final)

 

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Canberra
The Civic Pub – Heat 1: Wed 21 Feb 8pm

The Civic Pub – Heat 2: Wed 28 Feb 8pm

Street Theatre – Thu 22 Mar 8.30pm (State Final)

 

MICF Media Contacts:

Jodi Crocker, Social Set Media – 0403 026 600 |  jodi@socialsetmedia.com.au

Sonia Rendigs, Hatching Communications – 0410 588 196  |  sonia@hchq.com.au
Jessica Williams, Hatching Communications – 0488 664 857 |  jessica.williams@hchq.com.au

 

Share RAW COMEDY 2018 - NATIONAL EVENTS CONFIRMED' to a friend

* Required Field





Separate multiple entries with a comma. Maximum 10 entries.



Separate multiple entries with a comma. Maximum 10 entries.

Loading ... Loading ...

Close This Window

SERVICES PROVIDED